Despite all the mishaps and challenges posted due to pandemic situations LPL – Lanka Premier League 2020 is underway. It was a dream come true after many announcements and cancellations of the most sought T20 tournament for the islanders. There had not been much cricket played in Sri Lanka during this year. It will help Sri Lanka Cricket to revive ahead of another T20I world championship in 2021.

This is the inaugural edition of the T20 cricket league launched by Sri Lanka Cricket. The main objective of the tournament is to develop domestic cricket by providing more opportunities to young players across the country. These youngsters will have the opportunity to play with the titans of the cricket world from Sri Lanka as well as other international players. It runs under the theme of “win together”.

Sri Lanka has produced fine cricket players in the past few decades and earned three world titles. First, they have won the 1996 ODI cricket world cup and the latest addition was the 2014 T20I champions’ titles. Sri Lanka cricket is known to have a unique brand of cricket with legendary players like Sanath Jayasuriya, Muttiah Muralitharan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardena, Lasith Malinga, and many more in the recent past. LPL is expected to unveil the talents of Sri Lankan Cricket and gain international experience by playing with veterans of the game. Island cricketing nation is renowned for producing some unorthodox cricket players who decorate the game. LPL – Lanka Premier League will be the best platform to discover future stars for the game.


All the matches are scheduled at the same venue – Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium (MRICS) Hambantota. It is scheduled between the 28th of November and the 16th of December. This is the first edition of the Lanka Premier league and 23 exciting T20 matches will be played. It is expected to catch the fan base in the coming years as Sri Lanka is very famous for the unique brand of cricket. 5 Teams will be playing for the my11circle title and most of the matches are played as day and night games. It is said that my11circle has sponsored 150 mn rupees to bring this dream alive.


Teams are named after cities across the country (Colombo, Dambulla, Galle, Jaffna, Kandy). Each team can play 4 foreign players and 7 domestic players in the playing 11.

Colombo Kings is lead by Sri Lankan former captain Angelo Mathews who is an all-rounder. His team has Andre Russell, Laurie Evans, Manpreet Gony, Isuru Udana, Dinesh Chandimal, Dushmantha Chameera. and For full squad.

Dambulla Viking is lead by Dasun Shanaka who is an all-rounder and former captain of the shorter format of the game is also. His team has Samit Patel, Paul Stirling, Aftab Alam, Anwar Ali, Sudeep Tyagi, Niroshan Dickwella, Oshada Fernando, Upul Tharanga, Samiullah Shinwari. For full squad

Galle Gladiators is lead by Shahid Afridi who is an explosive batsman who has fine form when it comes to bowling. He is also known as Boom Boom Afridi due to his destructive hitting. His team has Azam Khan, Hazratullah Zazai, Mohamed Shiraz, Mohammad Amir, Danushka Gunathilaka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Akila Dananjaya, Chadwick Walton. For full squad

Jaffna Stallions is lead by Thisara Perera, an all-rounder and known as panda among his teammates. He is tough batsmen to deal with once he gets going. His team has Shoaib Malik, Avishka Fernando, Suranga Lakmal, Kyle Abbott, Duanne Olivier, Johnson Charles, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga For full squad

Kandy Tuskers is lead by an explosive batsman Kusal Perera who has Sanath Jayasuriya like batting style and played many destructive innings for Sri Lanka. His team includes Dale Steyn, Brendan Taylor, Munaf Patel, Irfan Pathan, Kusal Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Asela Gunaratne. For full squad.

LPL Match Schedule

26-Nov-2019:30 (D/N)Colombo Kings vs Kandy Tuskers
27-Nov-2019:30 (D/N)Galle Gladiators vs Jaffna Stallions
28-Nov-2015:30 (D/N)Dambulla Viiking vs Kandy Tuskers
28-Nov-2019:30 (D/N)Colombo Kings vs Galle Gladiators
30-Nov-2015:30 (D/N)Dambulla Viiking vs Jaffna Stallions
30-Nov-2019:30 (D/N)Galle Gladiators vs Kandy Tuskers
1-Dec-2015:30 (D/N)Colombo Kings vs Dambulla Viiking
1-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Jaffna Stallions vs Kandy Tuskers
3-Dec-2015:30 (D/N)Galle Gladiators vs Jaffna Stallions
3-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Dambulla Viiking vs Kandy Tuskers
4-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Colombo Kings vs Jaffna Stallions
5-Dec-2015:30 (D/N)Dambulla Viiking vs Galle Gladiators
5-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Colombo Kings vs Kandy Tuskers
7-Dec-2015:30 (D/N)Colombo Kings vs Galle Gladiators
7-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Dambulla Viiking vs Jaffna Stallions
9-Dec-2015:30 (D/N)Jaffna Stallions vs Kandy Tuskers
9-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Dambulla Viiking vs Galle Gladiators
10-Dec-2015:30 (D/N)Colombo Kings vs Jaffna Stallions
10-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Galle Gladiators vs Kandy Tuskers
11-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Colombo Kings vs Dambulla Viiking
13-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Semi Final 1
14-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Semi Final 2
16-Dec-2019:30 (D/N)Final
Lanka Premier League 2020


Live stream YouTube channel for LPL


Watch the opening ceremony of LPL

Sri Lanka Cricket is praised for its commitment to bring such a wonderful event to Sri Lanka amidst the covid-19 pandemic situation. They have been taking care of team members and other associated staff under strict safety protocols. They have done a marvelous job to deliver the gala cricket league to cricket fans across the globe and they use the latest production technology to give spectators a great experience through their television sets. We wish all the teams and Sri Lanka Cricket to bring an exciting tournament for all the cricket-loving nations.